CHICAGO (CBS) — Chicago’s mayor said the city is ready to start Phase 1C of the COVID vaccination process, which now includes people who are 16 years old and older.

Mayor Lori Lightfoot announced the expansion of Phase 1C

“Today, we have reached an important milestone in our journey on COVID with COVID-19. Since the first day the vaccines arrived in our city. Last year in December, we’ve been able to feel the warmth of light at the end of a very long dark tunnel. We started vaccinating with our health care workers in Phase 1A, and then a month later at the end of January of this year, we began vaccinating our frontline and central workers and our seniors. And today, we are excited to expand eligibility to all of our essential workers and residents aged 16 to 64 with underlying medical conditions.”

She said Phase 1C means a million more Chicagoans will be able to get the vaccine.

“What this means is about 84% of adults in Chicago, are now eligible to receive this life saving vaccine. So if you were eligible under these early phases, and you did not take advantage of the opportunity. Do not delay. The door is still open to you,” Lightfoot said.

Last week, the mayor said that despite the continued vaccine rollout, people should not let their guards down when it comes to safety. However the mayor said she was troubled by the most recent COVID numbers in Chicago that continue to trend upward.

“Today, we’re over 400 average, new cases a day and our present positivity, which was the lowest that it had ever been in the pandemic is now back to 4%, positivity. This is obviously a very troubling trend that is being driven by adults 18 to 39, who are primarily on the north and northwest side of our city. In our Lincoln Park Old Town, dining, and Portage Park neighborhoods,” Lightfoot said.

Who is eligible under Phase 1C? According to the city, those 16-64 with underlying medical conditions such as

  • Cancer (current diagnosis)
  • Cardiac, cardiovascular, and cerebrovascular disorders (including heart disease, coronary artery disease, and hypertension or high blood pressure)
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Chronic respiratory disorders (including cystic fibrosis, moderate to severe asthma, pulmonary fibrosis, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease/emphysema [COPD])
  • Diabetes (Type 1 and Type 2)
  • Disability: physical, developmental, visual, hearing, or mental
  • Neurologic conditions (including dementia)
  • Down Syndrome
  • Immunocompromised state (weakened immune system) including from blood or bone marrow transplant, immune deficiencies, HIV, use of corticosteroids, or use of other immune weakening medicines
  • Liver disease (including hepatitis)
  • Pregnancy
  • Obesity: BMI ≥30 kg/m2
  • Schizophrenia spectrum disorders
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • Thalassemia

Also included are all other essential workers:

  • Clergy and religious organizations
  • Energy
  • Finance
  • Food and beverage service
  • Higher Education
  • Information Technology and communications
  • Legal
  • Media
  • Other Community- or Government-based Operations and Essential Functions
  • Personal Care Services and hygiene
  • Public health
  • Public safety
  • Retail
  • Shelter and Housing
  • Transportation and Logistics
  • Water and wastewater

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: